Mackay Mines Building
The Mackay Mines Building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Mackay School of Earth Sciences and Engineering offices, DeLaMare Library, and the W.M. Keck Museum are the centerpieces for this restored building. The museum is normally open to the public from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on weekdays. Mackay Mines is named for John W. Mackay (1831-1902), one of the "Big Four" mining magnates of the Comstock Lode bonanza. In 1908, this building and subsequent endowments were presented to the University in John Mackay's honor by his widow, Marie Louise, and his son, Clarence H. Mackay. The unique statue of John Mackay in front of the building was created by renowned sculptor Gutzon Borglum, who is best known for his work on Mount Rushmore.