2023 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

Join the University Libraries as we celebrate and honor 2023 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inductee Susan Palwick and Silver Pen Awardee Megan Edwards.

A celebration of the lives and contributions of James Hulse and Larry Struve will also be included.

Attendees will enjoy a special program, book signing and dessert reception.

Event details:

Date: Friday, December 1

Program: 7 p.m.

Dessert reception: 8 p.m.

Location: Well Fargo Auditorium

Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, 1st floor

University of Nevada, Reno

Ticket information: $25 per person; tickets can be purchased online via the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame webpage.

Parking information: Free parking will be available in the Brian Whalen Parking Complex

For more information about the event please contact Maggie Ressel via email, ressel@unr.edu, or by phone at 775-682-5653.

We would like to thank our event sponsors:

Kelly and Annette Bland, NAI Alliance
Joseph and Cathy Guild, the Clark Guild Family Trust
Joan Zenan

Literary Lion
Heidi Struve Currey and Family
Betty Hulse
Linda Wyckoff

Ruth Gregory
Craig Questa

Patricia Cafferata
Bobbi and Dale Lazzarone
Lise Mousel
Janice Pine

Shauna Adams
DeLores and Dave Aiazzi
Thomas Cook
Susie McQuaid

2023 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inductee, 2006 Silver Pen Awardee

Susan Palwick has published four novels, one book of sonnets, several story collections and many works of short fiction appearing in venues such as Asimov’s, Lightspeed, and Tor dot com. Her work has been reprinted in a number of Year’s Best anthologies, including several volumes of the prestigious Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy series. Her fiction has been honored with a Crawford Award from the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts and an Alex Award from the American Library Association, and has been shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award, the Mythopoeic Award, and the Philip K. Dick Award. Prior to her induction into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame, she received a Silver Pen Award in 2006.

2023 Silver Pen Awardee

Megan Edwards is the author of A Coin for the Ferryman (Imbrifex, 2022). Her other books include the travel memoir Roads from the Ashes: An Odyssey in Real Life on the Virtual Frontier, the award-winning Copper Black mystery novels Getting off on Frank Sinatra and Full Service Blonde, and the award-winning novel Strings: A Love Story. Edwards holds a B.A. in classics from Scripps College and an M.A. from Claremont Graduate University. She has lived and traveled extensively in Europe and spent nearly seven years “on the road” all over North America. A t home in Las Vegas, Nevada, Edwards is working on her next book.

Remembering James Hulse and Larry Struve

James W. Hulse was professor of history at University of Nevada, Reno and lifelong expert on Nevada politics and history. He wrote for the Nevada State Journal, first as a student, later while in military service in Germany and France, and finally as a reporter before joining the University faculty in 1962. He authored many books on Nevada and European history, including the centennial history of the University of Nevada, six editions of The Nevada Adventure: A History, and Oases of Culture on the history of Nevada Libraries. Jim was active in many causes, including civil rights and nuclear non-proliferation. He was inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame in 1997 and continued to attend and support the Hall of Fame until his passing.

Larry D. Struve devoted more than 25 years to public service in support of the state of Nevada. He served as deputy district attorney in Washoe County, before becoming chief deputy for Nevada Attorney General Richard H. Bryan, and later, Governor Bryan's Director of the Department of Commerce. After retirement, Larry served as a legislative advocate for the Religious Alliance in Nevada, and supported numerous philanthropic causes including the University Libraries, the Reno Philharmonic, and the Fletcher Foundation. A published author himself, Larry was a stalwart supporter of the Nevada Writer’s Hall of Fame, and instrumental in the establishment of the Silver Pen award in 1996. Before his passing, Larry helped to establish the Nevada Writer’s Hall of Fame Endowment.


Friday, December 1, 2023 at 7:00 pm to 9:30 pm

Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Wells Fargo Auditorium, First Floor
39.5433916198639, -119.815739840269